PSL 9: Mohammad Rizwan to take final as just another match


Sultans are playing their fourth straight PSL final.

Mohammad Rizwan, the captain of Multan Sultans, has emphasized that the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine final against Islamabad United holds no special significance for him and will be treated like any other match.

This marks Multan Sultans’ fourth consecutive appearance in the PSL final, whereas Islamabad United is making their first final appearance since 2018.

The captains convened for a photo session at Karachi’s Custom House before the final showdown, taking the opportunity to express their perspectives on the impending match.

“Our team is gearing up for our fourth consecutive final, and there’s certainly a buzz of excitement among us. However, personally, I approach the game with the same focus and determination as I would any season opener,” Rizwan remarked.

Meanwhile, Shadab expresses his enthusiasm for participating in the final after a six-year gap. He highlights the strong camaraderie within the team, emphasizing their unity and teamwork, stating, “Our team’s cohesion has consistently been exceptional, resembling a closely-knit family, and we take to the field with the spirit of unity and solidarity.”

In their closing remarks, both captains extended a heartfelt invitation to fans, urging them to join and witness the PSL 9 final showdown unfold at the National Bank Cricket Stadium on Monday.

It’s worth noting that the Sultans reaffirmed their superiority and showcased their comprehensive skills in their victory over Peshawar Zalmi in Qualifier 1, securing their place in the final.

Meanwhile, United’s back-to-back victories in direct knockout matches against Quetta Gladiators and Zalmi propelled them into the final stage of the PSL 9 tournament.

Likely playing XI

Multan Sultans: Yasir Khan, Mohammad Rizwan (C & Wk), Usman Khan, Johnson Charles, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Ali

Islamabad United: Martin Guptill, Alex Hales, Agha Salman, Shadab Khan (C), Azam Khan (WK), Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Hunain Shah, Obed McCoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *