ICC begins 2024 T20 World Cup trophy tour in New York

T20 World Cup

The World Cup is set to commence on June 1.

On Tuesday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) kicked off the 2024 T20 World Cup Trophy Tour in New York, featuring the participation of two-time world champion Chris Gayle alongside Ali Khan from the United States (US), as they inaugurated the tour.

The Trophy Tour began at the Empire State Building where Gayle and Ali posed with the trophy on top of the building.

A comprehensive of 55 matches are scheduled to take place throughout the US and the West Indies, with an impressive three million applications already submitted through the public ballot. Furthermore, additional tickets are set to be released for 51 of these matches to accommodate the high demand.

The “Out of this World” trophy will embark on a journey to 15 countries spanning four continents, where it will be showcased in the presence of iconic cricketers. This prestigious tour will include visits to some of the world’s finest stadiums during its global expedition.

In addition to established cricketing nations, the trophy will also travel to emerging countries such as Brazil, Argentina, Canada, and others. This initiative aims to foster greater engagement with the sport and stimulate interest among people in these regions.

The Trophy Tour Schedule for the first month is available below:

18-20 March: New York

21-23 March: Houston, Grand Prairie and Dallas

26-27 March: Buenos Aires

28-29 March: Sao Paulo

3-4 April: Jamaica

13-14 April: Barbados

17-18 April: Antigua and Barbuda

19-20 April: Saint Lucia

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

The 20 qualifying teams have been segregated into four groups of five each. From these groups, the top two teams of each group will progress to the Super 8 round.

During this stage, the qualifying teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each. From these groups, the top two teams will advance to the semi-finals, with the winners progressing to the final showdown.

This marks the return of the T20 World Cup to the West Indies for the first time since 2010 when England emerged victorious, marking a significant milestone for the region.

On the other hand, this is the first time an event as big as the World Cup will be hosted by the US.

England holds the title of defending champions following their triumph in the 2022 T20 World Cup, where they secured victory over Pakistan in the final match held in Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *